Hutner awardees

Year Awardee Research Topic
2016 Joel Dacks Diversity of membrane-trafficking machinery
2015 Susanne Menden-Deuer Roles of protists in the marine plankton
2014 Ross Waller Evolution in Aveolates
2013 John Archibald Origin and evolution of eukaryotes
2012 Alastair G. B. Simpson Phylogeny and ultrastructure of excavate flagellates
2011 Virginia Edgcomb Ecology and phylogeny of marine protists, especially ciliates
2010 Andrew Roger Phylogeny of eukaryotes and genome evolution
2009 Laura Katz Evolution of eukaryotic microbes
2006 Per Juel Hansen Ecology of marine flagellates and ciliates, emphasizing mixotrophy
2005 Patrick Keeling Lateral gene transfer and compact genomes
2003 Burt Goldberg Biochemistry and drug metabolism of anaerobic protozoa
2002 David A. Scott Vacuolar pyrophosphatase of trypanosomes
2000 Guan Zhu Biochemistry and metabolism of apicomplexan parasites
1999 David Caron Ecology of planktonic protists, particularly flagellates
1998 Jo Ann Burkholder Pfeisteria and harmful algal blooms
1996 Melanie T. Cushion  Pathobiology of Pneumocystis infection
1995 C. Graham Clark  Genetic diversity of intestinal protists
1994 Nigel Yarlett  Hydrogenosomes and anaerobic metabolism of protists
1992 Carolyn L. Jahn  Genome rearrangements and development of hypotrich
1991 Diane K. Stoecker  Ecology of planktonic protists, especially ciliates
1990 Stephen F. Ng  Morphogenetic functions of the micronucleus of ciliates
1988 Roberto Docampo  Trypanosomes and calcium metabolism
1987 Alan FairlambKwang-Poo Chang  Metabolism and functions of trypanothione & Biochemistry and cell biology of Leishmania
1986 Graham H. Coombs  Biochemistry of parasites, particularly Leishmania and Trichomonas
1985 John Mansfield  Host-parasite relationships of African trypanosomes
1984 Stephen Hajduk  Antigenic variation and kinetoplast DNA of African trypanosomes
1983 Cyrus J. Bacchi  Biochemistry and physiology of hemoflagellate protozoa
1982 Yoshinori Nozawa  Membrane biology of Tetrahymena
1981 Donald G. Lindmark  Metabolism of hydrogenosomes, particularly of Giardia
1980 Larry Simpson  Mitochondrial genome of kinetoplastids, particularly trypanosomes
1979 George C. Hill  Biochemistry and molecular biology of African trypanosomes
1978 Richard D. Allen  Ultrastructure and cell biology of ciliates, particularly organelles of Paramecium
1976 Miklós Müller  Hydrogenosomes and anaerobic metabolism of protists
google-site-verification: google37f4bcf759043587.html